Samara State Aerospace University (SSAU)

Samara State Aerospace University named after academician S.P. Korolev is a National Research University (designation officially awarded to only 29 Russian universities) was founded in 1942 as Kuibyshev Aviation Institute (KuAI) with the purpose of the preparation of the engineers for the aircraft industry. On 50th anniversary, the University changed its name from Aviation Institute to Aerospace University to highlight its pivotal role in Soviet Space Program. At SSAU, students are studying for careers in information technology, telecommunications, space rocket and aircraft construction, electrical engineering and other subjects. The university awards Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral degrees in a variety of fields.

Samara State Medical University (SSMU)

Samara State Medical University is one of the largest and well-known medical universities in Russia. Samara State University with a medical department was founded on January 1st, 1919. In 1930 Samara Medical Institute was opened (known as Kuibyshev Medical Institute later). In July 1993 the Institute was reorganized into Samara State Medical University. SamSMU includes 4 institutes, more than 15 specialized diagnostic and therapeutic centers, 14 departments and 90 chairs. The teaching staff consists of 622 members, 14 of which are academicians and corresponding member of different academies, 100 professors and PhDs, 386 assistant professors.